April 9th PAD Entry

Prompt. A memory

Memory Maker

We were walking down a hill,

In a group, a pack, a knot.

We had been in England for a month and a half.

Halfway done with summer. Everything was so green.

Halfway done with the trip. We had all become such close friends.

We were going from the school to the pub.

The Black Griffin, what a fantastic name for a pub.

It reminded me of a fantasy novel where all the characters meet in the beginning.

The trip wasn’t over and wouldn’t be for a long time.

But I found myself wondering what I would remember.

Which memories would stick and which wouldn’t?

I had to lose some.

The pint of Guinness waiting for me at the pub assured me of that.

Which would stay? There were so many I desired to keep.

I made a list of the things I would not forget in my mind.

I did my best to remember them.

I can’t remember them, well not all of them.

I can remember clearly, walking down a hill.

Published in: on April 9, 2009 at 7:34 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. I look forward to each and every poem, they make you think, smile, frown, remember. You are creating a treasure of thoughts and ideas that we can go back to again and again. Thank you!!


Comments are closed.

