Queries SUCK

Okay, In addition to editing and rewriting and polishing my manuscript I am also working on my Query Letter. In preparation for this I have been reading the blogs of several literary agents, queryfail, queryshark and any other information I can get a hold of and my synopsis is this:

Queries Suck.

It seems that while most agents consider queries an essential evil in their world, they still think it is the best method for discovering new talent. I think I am new talent; so it is definitely an essential evil in my world, but I hate it. I loathe it, I have the biggest block in the world to move to get this bastard done. Maybe because so much seems to be riding on a single spaced page, like my whole 500 page book. Maybe because deep down I fear the countless rejection letters that have yet to be written. Whatever the reason, it is killing me.

 The rules for what makes a good query and a bad query vary as broadly as what makes a good novel and a bad novel, the problem with the whole system is that a good query does not guarantee a good novel nor the reverse. It is the most common gateway, unless I can find thousands of dollars somewhere an attend writing conventions all year trying to get a minute to pitch an agent who, if I am charming and polite and everything else I need to be in addition to having a good story, will tell me to send them a query.

I hate my query, I love my story, I am freaking out.

I see why so many authors drink.

Of course I will post it up here to be critiqued before I send it off to anybody so maybe somebody can help me.

Ack, I have wasted all the time I can think of on this post, time to get back to work on the stupid query.

Tchuss

-Lystra

4 Comments

  1. Midnight in Vegas, awesome title, awesome read,
    don’t worry

  2. Midnight in Vegas, gosh I hope a lot of people get to read this book, its great, a stay with you, ponder, ohh and laugh out loud times, best book I’ve read in a long time………….

  3. Hang in there! I like to think people who read queries need the work. Just do the best you can to make it as interesting as your book.

    • Good point


Comments are closed.

