Queries Suck Part 2

Still working on my query. I know, I know, should be done by now. I just want it to be a good representation of my work. I want the people who read it to jump out of their chairs, spill their coffee all over their cat and scream, “Oh, I have to read this!”

Is that a bit much?

Maybe.

I know I’m going to get rejection notices. It is a part of the business; most authors wear them like a badge of honor. I don’t care about those, but I would like to get one, just one, request for the full manuscript. I know that I’m not going to get any rejections or requests with the number of queries that I have sent out to date: 0. I have resigned myself to finishing my query and getting it out there. I have been messing around, editing, and re-editing my MS when I should be editing and re-editing my query and sending the bugger out there.

My favorite blogging agent Janet Reid wrote this on her blog today http://jetreidliterary.blogspot.com/2009/05/weve-terrified-wrong-half-of-yall.html about terrifying the wrong half. I think she is right, so I need to face my fear and get that query done and out the door.

Tchuss

-Lystra

Published in: on May 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Good luck! It took me several months to get a request for the full of my last novel, and I’m still waiting to hear back from that agent, but that was a very good day. I hope you get that call/email soon!

    • Thanks. Good luck to you too. I hope they like your MS. That is the real rub isn’t it, even after you get a nibble you got to reel’em in.
      -Lystra


Comments are closed.

