Actors and Actresses Contest

One of my favorite games is to cast the characters in my favorite books.

It is fun to pick actors and actresses for each character, but I hadn’t ever thought to play the game with my book. My cousin Jen just finished reading my book and I asked her to critique it. In her critique she cast my characters. I was both thrilled and shocked by this. Why hadn’t I thought about doing that? I should have, I do it with pretty much every book I read.

Needless to say, I played the game myself and came up with my own cast. Unfortunately my list was corrupted by Jen’s list, she nailed a few characters dead on, they wouldn’t have been the choices I made but they were far better than the ones I would have picked. I was also shocked by her interpretations of other characters.

All in all I thought her assessment was awesome and helpful. It is great inside information to see how a reader perceives the characters.

So this is what I would like to do.

I am going to have my first blog contest.

If you have read my book I would like to know what actors you would cast in the roles of the major characters.

The prize: The person who does the best job casting my book will receive a $25.00 Border’s gift certificate and a special shout out in the acknowledgments section of my book if it ever gets published.

What if I haven’t read it? You ask.

Not to worry I will give the contest a one month time limit and give anyone who emails me at lystraeudaimon@msn.com a copy of my book for the duration of the contest.

That being said: Here is the first entry. All other entries must be posted as comments.

Jen Apodaca’s cast:

Charles DeCroix- Forest Whitaker

Jeff Heaven- Justin Timberlake

Clarissa- Malin Akerman (from Watchmen)

Nic- John Bon Jovi

Abby- Chloe Sevigney (the blonde wife from Big Love)

Lawrence- Ron Pearlman

Tymon- Jack Palance

Scratch- Michael Sheen (From the Underworld movies)

Chance- Michael Emerson (Benjamin Linus from Lost)

I would ask that you try to be creative and not repeat any unless that is the one you would have picked anyway. Repeats will lose you points so try to post yours up as quickly as possible.

Contest ends on March 10th

When it is over I’ll post up my cast.

Game on.

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 12:06 pm  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. It has been brought to my attention that Jen missed a couple of characters.
    Please include your choices for:
    Mother
    DJ Alaska
    Big Jim
    Bonus points for any other characters you come up with.


Comments are closed.

